Posted in New York Mets, Uncategorized

Mets Add Four To The Hall

On Aug. 1, the Mets will finally do something that’s long overdue. Dwight Gooden, Darryl Strawberry, Davey Johnson and Frank Cashen will be inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame.

I can’t believe it’s taken this long to honor these four men who were at the heart of the Mets renaissance in the 1980s.

For all the talk about Keith Hernandez and Gary Carter’s contributions to the 1986 World Series champions, Dwight Gooden and Darryl Strawberry were the two most talented players on that team. I don’t know if younger fans can really appreciate how good they were — Strawberry’s stats in particular just don’t look like that big of a deal compared to modern players. Trust me, they belong in the Mets Hall of Fame.

When you talk about the best managers in Mets history, you’ll start the conversation with Gil Hodges. Davey Johnson is a close second. For his first five seasons, Johnson won at least 90 games every year — twice he won 100. There was the World Series in 1986 and a division title in 1988. He still holds the record for the most career victories by a Mets manager.

Frank Cashen may be the least well-known of the four inductees, but he’s arguably the most important. He’s the GM who drafted Strawberry and Gooden, hired Johnson and traded for Hernandez and Carter.

They join the following members of the Mets Hall of Fame:

Joan Payson (1981)
Casey Stengel (1981)
Gil Hodges (1982)
George M. Weiss (1982)
William A. Shea (1983)
Johnny Murphy (1983)
Ralph Kiner (1984)
Bob Murphy (1984)
Lindsey Nelson (1984)
Bud Harrelson (1986)
Rusty Staub (1986)
Tom Seaver (1988)
Jerry Koosman (1989)
Ed Kranepool (1990)
Cleon Jones (1991)
Jerry Grote (1992)
Tug McGraw (1993)
Mookie Wilson (1996)
Keith Hernandez (1997)
Gary Carter (2001)
Tommie Agee (2002)

Hopefully it won’t take another eight years to induct the next class.

One thought on “Mets Add Four To The Hall

Comments are closed.