Posted in Baseball, Uncategorized

Hall of Diminishing Relevance

Mike Piazza: Not a Hall of Famer in 2013

The results of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America Hall of Fame ballot were announced today, and the esteemed scribes felt that none of these players were worthy of induction in Cooperstown this summer:

  • Sandy Alomar, Jr.
  • Jeff Bagwell
  • Craig Biggio
  • Barry Bonds
  • Jeff Cirillo
  • Royce Clayton
  • Roger Clemens
  • Jeff Conine
  • Steve Finley
  • Julio Franco
  • Shawn Green
  • Roberto Hernández
  • Ryan Klesko
  • Kenny Lofton
  • Edgar Martínez
  • Don Mattingly
  • Fred McGriff
  • Mark McGwire
  • José Mesa
  • Jack Morris
  • Dale Murphy
  • Rafael Palmeiro
  • Mike Piazza
  • Tim Raines
  • Reggie Sanders
  • Curt Schilling
  • Aaron Sele
  • Lee Smith
  • Sammy Sosa
  • Mike Stanton
  • Alan Trammell
  • Larry Walker
  • Todd Walker
  • David Wells
  • Rondell White
  • Bernie Williams
  • Woody Williams

The Hall of Fame is just a building, and the Baseball Writers’ Association of America is a collection of bitter individuals who didn’t do their job well enough to shine light on the steroid era until circumstances forced them to.

It’s time to stop letting them be important.



Level 41 neutral good wizard. Live long and prosper. May the Force be with you. Let's go Mets!

4 thoughts on “Hall of Diminishing Relevance

  1. Absolutely! Just call them Mr. Coffee, cuz they’re so bitter. I don’t buy the steroid era as an issue to begin with, but Craig Biggio and Mike Piazza? C’mon. Those guys are clean and first-ballot worthy. It’s time for the Hall to put in place a new system that gives writers less power (I wouldn’t give them any) and fans, players, coaches and current Hall of Famers more.


  2. Well, Jacob Ruppert was elected by the Veterans’ Committee, and will be inducted this summer. Didn’t Ruppert have some connection to the original Newark Bears of the International League? The current mascot of the Bears is named after Col. Ruppert, no?


Comments are closed.